Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Did Marlins pitcher Alex Sanabia throw illegal spitball?


source:   source:



Miami Marlins pitcher Alex Sanabia improved to 3-6 on the season after helping lead his team past the Philadelphia Phillies, 5-1, Monday night.

However, did he do so with the aide of an illegal pitch? According to these images you see above, it sure looks like it.

Sanabia surrendered just one run in 6.1 innings of work, which came courtesy of a solo home run by Domonic Brown in the second inning. Sanabia was caught on camera immediately following the homer hocking up a big wad of spit on the baseball, which is completely illegal for a pitcher to do. None of the umpires, opposing players, or opposing coaches caught it, though, and it was smooth sailing after that for the 24-year-old.

But a suspension could follow given the visual evidence MLB now has. You can check out the video of the illegal act on MLB.com.

Via Hardball Talk

No comments:

Post a Comment