Wednesday, October 3, 2012

Video: Nationals mascot wins first race after 500 failed atttempt


The Presidents Race at Washington Nationals home games has been a long-standing tradition since the summer of 2006. The race features former U.S. presidents Teddy Roosevelt, Abraham Lincoln, George Washington, and Thomas Jefferson. There have been over 500 races since the inaugural race, and not once did Teddy Roosevelt win it before Wednesday.

The magic moment came during the fourth inning of the Nats' home affair against the Phillies at Nationals Park. Teddy starts his way in last place before roaring to the front of the pack to seal the victory, with a little help from a rival mascot of the Phils.

It was a fitting end to a great regular season for Washington. The Nationals are all set to host the first playoff game in the nation's capital in 79 years when they play in the NLDS.

No comments:

Post a Comment