Friday, October 12, 2012

Video: Did the umpires blow call on ball hit by Nate McClouth?

Homerun_foulpoll_original
 

The New York Yankees and Baltimore Orioles duked it out in a winner-take-all affair Friday night at Yankee Stadium. The victor of the game advanced on for the right to play in the ALCS. The loser, however, was eliminated and must partake in the rest of the MLB postseason from the comforts of their homes.

It goes without saying, but every play is crucial in this type of situation. During the sixth inning, Baltimore outfielder Nate McLouth barely misses a game-tying home run when the umpires rule that his batted ball just misses the right-field foul pole. The umpires converge, look at the replay, and then uphold the call. But upon further review, it looks as though the ball may have actually nicked the pole and thus, should have tied the game at one. 

What do you think? 

Update: As fate would have it the Yankees went on to win, 3-1, to win the series and eliminate the Orioles from the playoffs.

GIF courtesy of the Bleacher Report.

14 comments:

  1. Ball didn't change course in flight. Sorry: FOUL !!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Only a Baltimore fan would think that the ball hit the pole. There was no change of direction. FOUL BALL

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Orioles should have at least tied the game when they had Sabathia on the ropes in the later innings. this call didin't lose the game for them

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ball didn't change direction. Foul ball. If it was the opposing team it would've have been foul according to O's fans. Sorry FOUL BALL all the way.

    ReplyDelete
  5. It looks to me like it does deflect in its flight path.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sorry, I hate the Yankees but this one they got right. Not like the infield fly in the Braves, one and done, game!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Capture screen shots of the slo-mo above, then overlay them one on the next on the next, fade all to a transparent layer, and run a line through the balls.

    There is a definite angle of deflection at the pole. It hit the pole. It's a home run.

    But now, baseball fans, take a lesson from soccer....(Keeping in mind Law V: The referee is the final authority in all matters of the game.) When it comes to the referee's callss...even when he's wrong, he's right.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The ball definitely hit the foul pole and changed directions, absolutely no question.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I don't care either way, but that ball nicks the pole. No question.

    ReplyDelete
  10. BA- THE CALL COULD HAVE GONE EITHER WAY! IT WAS TO CLOSE OF A CALL. LIKE IN FOOTBALL, IF THE REPLAY DOEHENOT SHOW ENOUGH EVIDENCE ONE WAY OR ANOTHER TEH PLAY STANDS AS CALLED ON THE FIELD.

    ReplyDelete
  11. The angle of the ball changes just as the shadow of the ball reaches the pole. Definitely made contact with the pole.

    ReplyDelete
  12. The ball never changed direction. Therefore it did not hit the pole. Result, Foul ball

    ReplyDelete
  13. hit the pole, clearly slight change in direction

    ReplyDelete
  14. All these people saying the ball never changed direction in this replay are either Yankees fans or idiots (what's the difference). You do not get to invent your own reality. What cracks me up is that suddenly you think the umps are screwing YOU. You've had 3 home runs called incorrectly in the playoffs at Yankee Stadium since 1996 and ALL OF THEM were called incorrectly in your favor- 2 against the Orioles, one against the Rangers.

    Don't cry to me about a tag at 2nd base. You have a lot of bad karma coming your way before you are even.

    ReplyDelete